The show Expect Diversity wins first place in the BEA Festival of Media Arts prize

Pictured (left to right) are expected diversity host David Pilgrim, guest Rita Walters and guest sergeant. Jim Eddinger.

Ferris State University’s Expect Diversity TV show won first place from the Broadcast Education Association in the “Television News Magazine” category. The announcement was made on February 18 as part of the BEA’s Media Arts Festival.

Expect Diversity is produced by faculty and students in Ferris’ Television and Digital Media Production Program under the direction of Glen Okonoski, Faculty Member, College of Education and Human Services, Department Chair from the School of Digital Media. The show is hosted by David Pilgrim, Ferris’ vice president for diversity and inclusion.

The specific Expect Diversity episode that won the BEA award was themed around community policing. Guests on the show were Rita Walters, assistant professor in the social work program at the Ferris College of Arts, Sciences and Education, and Sgt. Jim Eddinger of the Big Rapids Department of Public Safety.

“We are delighted that the work of TDMP students has been recognized in this way. The TDMP curriculum engages students in their learning through project-based work that is often collaborative and community-driven,” Okonoski said. “The students felt that community policing was an important topic to discuss in this forum, and the resulting discussion was very informative and interesting. That their work has been recognized, nationally by the BEA, is a testament to the quality of the narrative that our students regularly create through their learning.

Ferris’ TDMP 385 Studio Production class is responsible for producing the program. The students in the class are listed below:

Student producer

Jesse Woodworth of Big Rapids, Mich.

Student crew

Garet Foote of Lowell, Michigan.
Dominique Gordon of Grand Rapids, Mich.
Cassandra Rachauskas of Battle Creek, Michigan.
Jeffrey Rynberg of Muskegon, Michigan.
Torico Searcy of Warren, Mich.
Jacob Vanauker of Coldwater, Mich.

The BEA festival had 1,538 total entries, 281 prizes awarded and 101 winning schools.

Click on Media Arts Festival for the full list of winners.

Click here BE A page for Ferris’ category winning page.

Click on School of Digital Media and TDMP to learn more about the unit and the academic program with the college.

Previous Australia Digital Media Course 2021
Next Veteran Journalist Keith B. Richburg to Head University of Hong Kong School of Media