IU launches committee for new media school dean after previous search fails

IU Bloomington Provost and Executive Vice President Rahul Shrivastav named a new committee to identify candidates for the position of Dean of the School of Media after a previous search failed. The committee announced that it would begin an initial search relaunch starting in the summer of 2021, which did not provide a final candidate, but was in the semi-finalist stage.

Walter Gantz serves as Acting Dean of the School of Media following the resignation of the school’s founding dean, James Shanahan, in July 2021.

The committee includes representatives from IU Bloomington faculty, staff, and students. Peg Faimon, the founding dean of the Eskenazi School of Art, Architecture and Design will chair the committee.

Committee members include:

  • Akinwumi Adesokan, associate professor

  • Lela Boys-Sibley, Senior, Journalism

  • Paul Caine, President, On Location and IMG Events

  • Susan Kelly, Lecturer

  • Gerry Lanosga, Associate Professor

  • Nicole Martins, Associate Professor

  • Ron McFall, Director of Administration and Strategic Initiatives

  • Elaine Monaghan, Practice Teacher

  • Xan Smith, PhD student and research assistant

  • Matt Waller, Senior Executive Advisor to the Provost

The Dean will administer the school’s recruitment and retention plans, research mission, facilities, and partnerships, as well as its curriculum, which includes four undergraduate majors with 10 concentrations, a master of science with five concentrations, a master of arts and a doctorate. . program.

Previous Fall 2022 Media Arts Fair ⋆ Princeton, NJ Local News
Next Charges filed for threatening school on social media